Home : Community : News and Recognition

News Articles

Press Releases

Sheriff awards Scholarships

Thursday, October 29, 2009

Sheriff Michael W. Neustrom is proud to announce the winners of the 2009 Louisiana Sheriff's Scholarship Program. They are Shai Corbello, Comeaux High School graduate, Christopher Vincent, Teurlings High School graduate, Megan Elaire, Northside High School graduate and Brandi Bergeron, Comeaux High School graduate.
Each year the Louisiana Sheriff's Honary Membership Program awards a $500 scholarship to a qualified graduating high school senior. There are no restrictions on the purposes for which the scholarship funds are spent. The scholarship is not a loan, and will be awarded as a gift to defray the rising cost of tuition and related expenses in higher education. The only limitations are that applicants be permanent residents of Louisiana; scholarships be utilized in higher education within the State; and students be enrolled as full-time, undergraduate students.
This year Sheriff Neustrom has personally added three additional scholarships of $500 each bringing the number of Scholarships awarded to four.

Lt. Craig Stansbury
Lafayette Parish Sheriff's Office
Public Information Officer